What Not To Say To A Foodie

I’m usually one of those people who look for the positives in everybody, but when it comes to this particular thing, sorry not sorry, but you’ve reached your limits and it’s an instant Simon Cowell-esque ‘no’ from me.

“Are you sharing?”

There probably isn’t (there definitely is) anything worse than when the waiter is taking your order at a restaurant only to finish with “And will you be sharing this evening?”. Lol. My favourite experience of this was back in San Francisco with my best friend. We’d sat down to lunch, the waiter comes out with cheese fries, a large pizza and a fried chicken ranch salad (ranch dressing on the side, gotta watch the waistline, y’know) and asks “Are you sharing?”. Now why’d he have to go and ruin what was going to be a lovely meal like that? Not only has he offended my friend and me, he’s also offended our five meals, too. What would make him think I would want to share this gorgeous spread of food with anyone else? I take food quite seriously, there’s no messing around. If we were sharing we definitely would have asked for extra plates to share the food, so now it’s just awkward, but mostly for the waiter, obvi. At this point the waiter’s just gotta put the dishes on the table without saying another word and quickly run back into the kitchen and scold themselves for assuming.

What gets me through these tough times is my loved ones. I was recently out for lunch with said best friend and we ordered two starters and two mains. When the waiter (a different one that did not take our order) came out with one of the mains, they uttered those poison-laced words, “Is this just to share?”. Thankfully, my friend had it covered and gave a very terse “No.”

Looks like I may be rubbing off on those around me, but consider it a good deed for everyone involved. FOOD SHAMING IS NOT A JOKE GUYS, MILLIONS OF FAMILIES ARE AFFECTED EVERY YEAR.

PSA: to all those working in hospitality – please never assume the table is sharing. Can we just do that and avoid the whole ‘did-you-just-call-me-fat-what-are-you-insinuating-no-we-aren’t-sharing-are-you-serious-why-would-you-ask-just-put-it-down-and-leave-oh-god-no-not-in-the-middle-fuck-me-great-thanks-for-that-mate’ that situation.

NB: I am fully aware that this maybe, possibly, could be a reflection of my underlying insecurities and terrible self-esteem and body issues, but hey, the customer is always right, so bring in another round of onion rings, no questions asked. Except for if I would like dipping sauce with those, and in that case, yes, I would, please and thanks.

Leave a comment